20.3 C
Friday, January 21, 2022

Nigeria: Mobo Awards 2021 – Wizkid Makes Historical past, Edges Out Drake, Burna Boy (Full Checklist of Winners)

Must read

Tanzania: Taha, UNDP Partnership Spurs Horticulture Outputs, Earnings

THE United Nations Improvement Programme (UNDP) backed pilot horticultural undertaking has recorded an enormous influence to small-scale farmers. The undertaking executed by TAHA in...

IDT Acquires Sochitel, A International FinTech and Digital Distribution Enterprise

NEWARK, NJ, Jan. 20, 2022 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- : IDT Company (NYSE: IDT), a world supplier of fintech, cloud communications, and conventional communications...

Annette Taddeo marketing campaign for Governor pronounces 5 key hires

Sen. Annette Taddeo has ramped up her run at Florida’s governorship with a handful of latest hires — all from South Florida —...

Ghana: Grohe Commits to More healthy City Panorama Publish Covid-19 Pandemic

Grohe, a number one international model for full toilet options and kitchen fittings, says it's dedicated to serving to create more healthy city...

<i>Wizkid made historical past as probably the most awarded African act in historical past after successful the Greatest Worldwide Act and Greatest African Act awards.</sub>

The 2021 Music of Black Origin, also called the MOBOs went down on the Coventry Constructing Society Area, U.Ok, and on YouTube on Sunday night time.

Leigh-Anne Pinnock and Munya Chawawa hosted the present.

The MOBO Awards are an annual British music award presentation honouring achievements in “music of black origin”, together with hip hop, grime, R&B, soul, reggae, jazz, gospel, and African music.


Nigerian celebrity Wizkid made historical past as probably the most awarded African act in historical past after successful the Greatest Worldwide Act and Greatest African Act awards. These two new awards make it a complete of 5 for Wizkid on the MOBO Awards.

Wizkid was nominated within the Greatest African Music Act of the yr class alongside Ayra Starr, Burna Boy, Ckay, Davido, King Promise, NSG, Rema, Tems, and Tiwa Savage.

Within the Greatest worldwide act class, he was up towards Megan Thee Stallion, Doja Cat, Drake, Kanye West, Lil Nas X, Polo G, Rema, Skillibeng, and Younger Stoner Life (Younger Thug & Gunna).

The ceremony additionally featured performances from Ghetts, Tems, NSG, Bree Runway, and Pa Salieu.

Try the total winners listing under:

Greatest male act

AJ Tracey

Central Cee


Ghetts – WINNER

Headie One

Potter Payper

Greatest feminine act

Arlo Parks

Bree Runway

Cleo Sol

Little Simz – WINNER


Tiana Major9

Album of the yr

Arlo Parks – Collapsed in Sunbeams

Celeste – Not Your Muse

Cleo Sol – Mom

Dave – We’re All Alone in This Collectively – WINNER

Ghetts – Battle of Curiosity

Headie One – Edna

Tune of the yr

A1 x J1 – Newest Tendencies

Central Cee – Dedication Points

Dave – Conflict (feat Stormzy)

Enny – Peng Black Ladies (feat Amia Courageous)

Pa Salieu – My Household (feat BackRoad Gee)

Tion Wayne & Russ Tens of millions – Physique (remix feat ArrDee, Bugzy Malone, Buni, Darkoo, E1, ZT & Fivio Overseas) – WINNER

Greatest newcomer

Arlo Parks


BackRoad Gee


Central Cee – WINNER


Pleasure Crookes

Midas the Jagaban


Wes Nelson

Video of the yr

Bree Runway – Scorching Scorching

Fredo – Cash Talks (feat Dave)

Little Simz – Girl (feat Cleo Sol)

M1llionz – Lagga – WINNER

Pa Salieu – My Household (feat BackRoad Gee)

Slowthai – Mazza (feat A$AP Rocky)

Greatest R&B/soul act


Cleo Sol – WINNER

Jorja Smith


Tiana Major9


Greatest grime act

Bugzy Malone


D Double E



Skepta – WINNER

Greatest hip-hop act


D-Block Europe – WINNER


Little Simz

Potter Payper


Greatest drill act

Central Cee – WINNER

Digga D

Headie One

Ok Lure


Russ Tens of millions


Tion Wayne

Unknown T

Greatest worldwide act

Doja Cat


Kanye West

Lil Nas X

Megan Thee Stallion

Polo G



Wizkid – WINNER

Younger Stoner Life (Younger Thug & Gunna)

Greatest efficiency in a TV present/movie

Ashley Thomas – Them

Damson Idris – Snowfall

Daniel Kaluuya – Judas & the Black Messiah

Letitia Wright – Small Axe

Micheal Ward – Small Axe – WINNER

Greatest media persona

Charlene White

Chunkz & Yung Filly – WINNER

Harry Pinero

Henrie Kwushue

Julie Adenuga

Maya Jama

Mo Gilligan

Munya Chawawa

Nella Rose

Zeze Millz

Greatest gospel act

CalledOut Music

Cece Winans

Guvna B – WINNER

Kirk Franklin